Peanut Butter and Chocolate Covered Cherries

I first tasted these absolutely delish little pieces of happiness this Christmas when Ryan’s mama made them. I couldn’t believe how good they were when I had my first bite. Chocolate covered cherries are my dad’s favourite thing. His kryptonite I would even say so naturally these were his birthday gift (I’ll get him that Corvette one day). He LOVED them and I knew it when I saw his face as he ate.

Ingredients:

1/2 cup butter, softened

1 cup peanut butter

1 teaspoon real vanilla extract

2 cups icing sugar

24 to 26 maraschino cherries with stems

Additional icing sugar

2 cups semi-sweet chocolate (chips or bakers)

1 teaspoon oil

Directions

Take your cherries out of the jar and pat them dry. Let them air dry (the drier the better).

In a small bowl, beat the butter and peanut butter until smooth. Beat in vanilla. Gradually add icing sugar and mix well. Cover and refrigerate for at least 1 hour.

Dust hands with additional icing sugar. Wrap each cherry with a rounded tablespoon full of peanut butter mixture. I find the easiest way to do this is to roll the peanut butter mixture into a ball, flatten it out in your hands and wrapping it around. Peanut butter mixture may need to be refrigerated occasionally while rolling cherries. Cover and refrigerate for at least 1 hour.

Melt chocolate  and oil in a double boiler (pot of boiling water with another pot or metal bowl on top if it for those who aren’t sure).

Dip peanut butter balls in chocolate; allow excess to drip off. Place on waxed paper. Place in the freezer to set.

They can be stored in the fridge or the freezer – I suggest freezer.

Leave a Reply

